Vote 2020 graphic
Everything you need to know about and expect during
the most important election of our lifetimes

Introducing the Paleofuture Book Club

Illustration for article titled Introducing the Paleofuture Book Club

Welcome to the Paleofuture Book Club, a new experiment where we'll be discussing the coolest books about old futures and the history of technology.

Advertisement

We're kicking things off with one of the best nonfiction books of last year, Tesla: Inventor of the Electrical Age by W. Bernard Carlson. And we'll even have the author joining us to take your questions!

Advertisement

So pick up a copy of Tesla: Inventor of the Electrical Age (it's also available in audiobook if that's more your jam) and join us on Wednesday, April 23rd. The discussion will start at 2pm Eastern time, and Dr. Carlson will be taking your questions and comments for about an hour.

Who: You, me, and author W. Bernard Carlson

What: Read Tesla: Inventor of the Electrical Age and get ready to discuss it

Where: Right here at Paleofuture dot Gizmodo dot com

When: April 23, 2014 at 2pm EST

  • Los Angeles: 11am
  • London: 9pm
  • Budapest: 10pm
  • Moscow: midnight
  • Tokyo: 6am, April 24th
  • Sydney: 8am, April 24th

Share This Story

Get our newsletter

DISCUSSION

This is very cool. For future reading I suggest Edward Bellamy's Looking Backward. Written in 1888. He describes a scientifically utopian and practical future that we would live in. Very readable and all his ideas make sense.

Best of all, it's available for download from Project Gutenberg http://www.gutenberg.org/ebooks/624

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Looking_B…